Home Shop Classified News, Stories Events Education Ridecamp Videos Cartoons AERC
Endurance.Net Home Ridecamp Archives
[Archives Index]   [Date Index]   [Thread Index]   [Author Index]   [Subject Index]

[RC] [Endurance Riding: News] Abu Dhabi: Obaid wins Rashid Challengeride - Merri

Mohammad Hilal Salim Obaid wins the Shaikh Rashid Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum Challenge at the Dubai International Endurance village yesterday.

Image Credit: Ahmed Kutty, Gulf News


By M. Satya Narayan, Senior Reporter, Gulf News
Published: December 6, 2009

Abu Dhabi: Mohammad Hilal Salim Obaid, riding Rahman Des Bruycres, secured his first major endurance victory when he won the Shaikh Rashid Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum Challenge 120km ride held at the Dubai International Endurance City on Saturday.

Obaid, riding the 10-year-old gelding Rahman Des Bruycres from Al Aasfa Stables, which is trained by Mubarak Khalifa Bin Shafya, dominated the ride from the second stage onwards and made every phase a winning one.

After South Africa's Gerda Burger won the first 27-km stage in which Obaid was fifth, it was a close battle between the two in the second and third loops.

Under threat

However Obaid won both and at the end of the third loop and was leading with Burger second. At that stage Obaid and his horse were averaging over a 26 km/h speed and the world record for a 120km ride here in the UAE seemed under threat.

However, Burger's challenge faded away and she eventually finished 7th while Obaid went on but at a much slower pace to win the 120-km in a timing of 4:42:26.

The world record stands in the name of Ali Khalfan Al Jahouri on Cupid, set at Al Wathba with a timing of 4:32.26 during the 2007 National Day Cup.

Ahmad Saeed Al Farsi on Akasha Sansation was second behind Obaid in 4:44.33, followed by Shaikh Rashid Dalmook Juma Al Maktoum on Halim in 4:56.39.

Shaikh Rashid Bin Hamdan Bin Rashid Al Maktoum along with Ali Mousa Al Khamiri of Dubai Equestrian Club gave away the prizes and trophies to the winners.


1. Mohammad Hilal Salim Obaid (Rahman Des Bruycres) 4hrs 42 mins 24 secs;

2. Ahmad Saeed Al Farsi (Akasha Sansation) 4:44.33;

3. Shaikh Rashid Dalmook Juma Al Maktoum (Halim) 4:56.39;

4. Hassan Abdullah Al Hammadi (Habibi) 4:56.41;

5. Khalifa Ganem Al Merri (Neran) 4:57.16.

Posted By Merri to Endurance Riding: News at 12/04/2009 09:02:00 AM