Home Current News News Archive Shop/Advertise Ridecamp Classified Events Learn/AERC
Endurance.Net Home Ridecamp Archives
[Archives Index]   [Date Index]   [Thread Index]   [Author Index]   [Subject Index]

[RC] [Endurance Riding: News] 2008 FEI World Endurance Championship - Steph Teeter

Malaysia is set to host the 2008 FEI World Endurance Championship in Terengganu, November 6-9.

The Malaysia WEC Website has been updated, including an Organizing Committee page for Federations, Registrations and general information

A brief account of the WEC in Malaysia:

His Majesty Seri Paduka Baginda Yang Dipertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan (King of Malaysia), an endurance riding enthusiast himself, went to France in 2005 with the Equestrian Association of Malaysia (EAM) to bid for the FEI World Endurance Championship to be held in Malaysia.

Despite bidding against other better established endurance nations, Malaysia was conditionally granted the opportunity to host the FEI World Endurance Championship 2008.

Following this sanction, two trial events were arranged to evaluate the feasibility of holding the World Championship in a country of a tropical climate for the first time ever. The first trial was held in 2006 for Malaysian horses and the second in 2007 for international horses. The precondition for the trials was a minimum completion rate of 40%.

In 2006 and 2007, encouraging completion rates of 56% and 67% were achieved for each respective year.

The 2008 World Championship promises to be an exciting and competitive event.

Many esteemed international Endurance riders will be competing in the WEC in Terengganu this year along with top Malaysian Riders.

Some of the expected participating Countries are;

1. Argentina
2. Australia
3. Bahrain
4. Belgium
5. Brazil
6. Canada
7. Chile
8. Colombia
9. Czech Republic
10. Denmark
11. France
12. Great Britain
13. Greece
14. Guatemala
15. Holland
16. Hungary
17. Italy
18. Japan
19. Kazakhstan
20. Kuwait
21. Luxemburg
22. Malaysia
23. New Zealand
24. Norway
25. Oman
26. Poland
27. Portugal
28. Qatar
29. Russia
30. Saudi Arabia
31. Spain
32. Sweden
33. United Arab Emirates (UAE)
34. Uruguay
35. USA

Posted By Steph Teeter to Endurance Riding: News at 5/13/2008 11:49:00 AM